Local Wine Co's Blog


Harvest (day 1, the arrival) by moegrier
October 7, 2010, 3:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I (Maureen Grier) recently had the pleasure of working my first harvest.
This is a little taste of my experience …

I arrived in Santa Rosa, CA on September 26th. For the next 3 days I would be participating in harvest at Davis Family Vineyards.

Driving up to the Davis residence I was in awe as I had my first up glance of a vineyard.

 

along side the driveway

 

We settled in and enjoyed a nice welcome glass of Davis Family ‘Cuvee Luke’ (a delcious blend of Roussanne, Marsanne , & Viognier).

Shortly after I was on my way with the Davis Family to watch the sunset at River’s End (a restaurant that is perched on a bluff overlooking the mystical Russian River entering the great Pacific Ocean).

We took a pit stop at one of the local state parks, Armstrong Redwoods SNR to see the historic redwood trees. The cool breezes, soft land, and quiet air were absolutely amazing… a true campers delight.

A glass of bubbles in hand… we arrived at River’s end just in time to see the sun setting into the pacific ocean.

 

Sunset. River's End 9/26/10

 

The evening ended at one of Guy and Judy’s favorite local spots, ZaZu. I had the pleasure of meeting chef Duskie Estes (competing on this season’s Next Iron Chef) and her husband John Stewart. The fresh prosciutto John plated for us was amazing!

 

John Stewart, a true pig master

 

Think happy local ingredients picked at the peak of freshness and prepared to perfection… that’s ZaZu.

… I went to bed that night with a full belly ready and rearing to go in morning.

My alarm was set for 7am… tomorrow, we pick Pinot!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

