Local Wine Co's Blog


To Make a Cocktail – Day 2 – Punch by cdbakunas
December 15, 2010, 12:31 pm
Filed under: Making Cocktails | Tags: , , , , , , ,

So I went out last night to gather ingredients for our first day of cocktails, Brandy Punch session (page 70 Imbibe, David Wondrich) and discovered a few things about myself. When out of my comfort zone I stand still like a deer in headlights.  Still, I’m so glad I’ve decided to make every cocktail in this book. It is such a different point of view when you read something and say, “ya, that’s a great idea,” then to actually go out and do it is another story.

I went to our largest retailer of wines and spirits here in Chicago and headed directly for the Brandy section. It never dawned on me that unless you are buying Cognac or Armagnac the brandy selection in the United States is pretty lame. Okay, extremely lame. Christian Brothers or E&J (E&J’s selling point is that it is a “classic” and in a shatter proof plastic bottle…hmmm).  And I really didn’t want to spend $85 on a bottle of Cognac that was being made into a punch.

I love me some good food and interesting ingredients, but where in the world go you find guava jelly if you don’t live in the tropics. A tough bill to fill in winter in Chicago. Whole Foods seemed like the obvious outlet, they did after all have tamarind jelly, but I’ll be damned if I can find some guava here in the winter.

And when your recipe says Jamaican rum what level of rum should I get? Aged, clear, pricey, moderate? Fuck, so many questions I didn’t think to ask. It’s like I needed a life line telephone call to help sort this all out.

So I have the ingredients and a few friends are on their way over right now and punch time commences within the hour.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

